Home > Web Design > Certificate IV in Web Based Technologies | Upskilled

Certificate IV in Web Based Technologies

Course Name: Certificate IV in Web Based Technologies

Provider: Upskilled

Level: Certificate IV

Delivery Method: Online

Course Overview

The Certificate IV in Web Based Technologies provides an individual with the skills and knowledge to design, develop, build and administer websites using a range of website technologies.

This program has been created with a blend of vendor specific, vendor neutral, and trainer developed materials. Vendor training is recognised internationally as an industry benchmark for product specific training. Upskilled uses an online Learning Management System to manage the delivery and assessment of learning resources. The program is conducted over a 12 month period through a blended learning approach of teacher-led workshops or webinars, distance education, and online materials.

Pathways into the qualification

Preferred pathways for candidates considering this qualification include:

  • After achieving ICT30115 Certificate III in Information, Digital Media, and Technology, or other relevant qualifications or units equivalent to the core of ICT30115 OR
  • With demonstrated vocational experience in a range of web-related work environments in website development, administration, or management

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

Participants often come with experience in one or more ICT competencies, vocationally acquired from a range of sources (both formal and otherwise). Upskilled acknowledges the validity of such experience and encourages candidates to apply for Recognition of Prior Learning where applicable. Upskilled's RPL Calculator is a guide to initial RPL standing, although participants are sometimes entitled to further RPL as enrolment progresses.

Unit Outline

The online e-Learning course addresses the following units of competency from the National ICT Information and Communications Technology Training Package. All competencies must be successfully completed to attain the certificate. 

The program is broken into 4 logical clusters of training within the broad category of ICT systems: 1/ Core Infrastructure; 2/ Continuity & Security; 3/Continuous Improvement; and 4/ Service Delivery & Governance.

  • BSBWHS304 - Participate effectively in WHS communication and consultation processes
  • ICTICT401 - Determine and confirm client business requirements
  • ICTWEB403 - Transfer content to a website using commercial packages
  • ICTWEB402 - Confirm accessibility of websites for people with special needs
  • ICTICT418 - Contribute to copyright, ethics and privacy in an ICT environment
  • ICTWEB429 - Create a markup language document to specification
  • ICTWEB401 - Design a website to meet technical requirements
  • ICTWEB424 - Evaluate and select a web hosting service
  • CUAPPM407 - Create storyboards
  • ICTWEB425 - Apply structured query language to extract and manipulate data
  • ICTICT408 - Create technical documentation
  • ICTWEB407 - Conduct operational acceptance tests of websites
  • ICTWEB404 - Maintain website performance
  • ICTWEB408 - Ensure basic website security
  • ICTWEB409 - Develop cascading style sheets
  • ICTWEB411 - Produce basic client-side script for dynamic web pages
  • ICTWEB406 - Create website testing procedures
  • BSBCRT401 - Articulate, present and debate ideas
  • ICTDBS403 - Create basic databases
  • ICTPMG401 - Support small scale ICT projects
  • ICTWEB405 - Monitor traffic and compile website traffic reports
  • ICTWEB415 - Produce server side script for dynamic web pages

Career Outcomes

This qualification suits individuals who are seeking to specialise in either design and production or the management and administration of websites, corporate intranets and extranets.   Possible job titles include:

  • Web Developer
  • Technical Writer
  • Webmaster Assistant
  • Website Coordinator
  • Website or Web Support Administrator
  • Assistant Web Designer

Microsoft Certification Mapping

This qualification covers the Microsoft learning content for the following Certification:

  • MTA: Database Fundamentals 
  • MTA: HTML5 Application Development Fundamentals
  • MCSA: SQL Server 2012

All recommended learning materials for these certifications are provided in this Upskilled Diploma, Microsoft Learning also recommends that you have hands-on experience with the product along with studying these materials.



Further Study

Pathways from this qualification include:

ICT50615 Diploma of Website Development, or a range of other diploma qualifications.

 * Vendor Certifications are current at the time of publishing but are subject to change as these are managed by external organisations to Upskilled.

Enquire Now